RTE 2 software question?

Posted by: gazzashiatsu

RTE 2 software question? - Wed, 14 Apr 2010 18:19:00

hi,
do any of you guys know what software the band are using on laptops? looking at the live video,they are using the same on each mac.
maybe someone recognises the programme.
obviously they use virtual synths,
i'm just curious...
cheers.
Posted by: Sleepwalker

Re: RTE 2 software question? - Wed, 14 Apr 2010 21:32:00

Gaz,

As far as I'm aware the guys use Mainstage Pro for the Mac.

The virtual synths they are using are GForce Media's VSM (Virtual String Machine) Midge, Billy & Chris use this.

Billy uses GForce Imposcar & Oddity, along with (now don't quote me!) Arturia's Yamaha CS80V
A Yamaha CP-300 piano, CME UF7 MIDI controller keyboard & a Novation Remote 49 SL Compact as a controller for the synth leads etc.

Chris also uses GForce's Minimonsta for Moog Bass
A Novation 61 SL MIDI controller is used to trigger the sounds. Midge also uses the above to trigger the sounds from his rig.

Warren did manage to get a hold of some old Star Synare-3 drum synths. He sampled the sounds in various settings & triggers them from his Yamaha kit.

Hope this helps? wink
Posted by: gazzashiatsu

Re: RTE 2 software question? - Thu, 15 Apr 2010 00:15:00

arrrr...thought so !!!!!

haha, thanx for the info.

i was gonna ask billy @ meet & greet here in liverpool.but found myself talking rubbish instead!!!
i guess i was a little star struck!
he & numan got me into synths.
i bought my first synth in the early 80's,
Yamaha cs5. added some flanger & reverb.
to get the billy currie sound!!!
.....
cheers;)
Posted by: Flip Martian

Re: RTE 2 software question? - Thu, 15 Apr 2010 00:21:00

Damn, I have all those VSTs! Why don't I sound like Ultravox?!!

Answer...

'cos I'm not ultravox - they are. smile
Posted by: JesperDK

Re: RTE 2 software question? - Thu, 15 Apr 2010 01:10:00

Cool info - thanks a lot Sleepy! smile
The first time I heard Vienna on the RTE-tour
I wondered how he did the electronic drums
- it sounded SO close....well, now we know:
It IS the Synare! Cool! smile

I know I have been a little harsh on the CS80V
earlier, but I must say after listening to the
beautiful sounds Billy gets out of it and trying
the new V2-version out myself, I really must say
Ive changed my mind completely about it - it
sounds GREAT and I have to buy it when I get some money. It sounds a little bit different than the
ME80...but just as good!

By the way: The "Dulcimer" like sound Midge uses
in Visions In Blue....where does that come from?
Posted by: JesperDK

Re: RTE 2 software question? - Thu, 15 Apr 2010 01:31:00

Quote:
Originally posted by Flip Martian:
Damn, I have all those VSTs! Why don't I sound like Ultravox?!!

Answer...

'cos I'm not ultravox - they are. smile
Haha...yeah, I know how it feels like Phil! smile
It would be really nice to have that "Ultravoxize" or "Numanize" button in the sequencer when you are sitting there feeling completely useless...who
knows what the future brings....
wink
Posted by: Pete C

Re: RTE 2 software question? - Thu, 15 Apr 2010 19:27:00

Quote:
Originally posted by Sleepwalker:

As far as I'm aware the guys use livestage Pro for the Mac.
Slight correction Don (as I know how "anorakey" us synth geeks can be), it's MainStage, which comes as part of the Logic Studio suite on the Mac.
wink
Posted by: JesperDK

Re: RTE 2 software question? - Thu, 15 Apr 2010 19:54:00

How does MainStage work more specific?
Im still on Logic 5.51 on PC nervouslaugh
Posted by: Sleepwalker

Re: RTE 2 software question? - Thu, 15 Apr 2010 20:29:00

Pete, you really are a geek aren't you !!! nutjob

Yes, sorry...I did mean to say Mainstage, my mate uses it with his Mac bundle cool

Seems to be the way to go these days! laugh

Previous post now edited wink
Posted by: Monuman

Re: RTE 2 software question? - Sun, 02 Jan 2011 03:01:00

do any of you have the RTE DVD with building eden???
do any of you know:

how chris does the backwards piano bit on his Novation at 7:32??????


thanks,
Monuman