Ultravox.org.uk Extreme Voice Official Ultravox Website

Pre-order Ultravox's 'Extended' remastered remixes album here now, exclusive bundles available!

Topic Options
#90823 - Tue, 24 Nov 2009 08:04:00 Greetings from a lifelong Ultravox fan
Thin Wall Offline
Pass level: Press

Loc: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Hi everyone,

Finally managed to sign up at last, though I have visited the forum previously. However, being a full time student I didn't sign up as I knew I'd end up spending too much time being distracted from my studies! As I've nearly finished the course and have the assignments all submitted I finally have more time to spare.

Anyway, I've been a fan of Ultravox since the early 1980's and always find myself going back to their albums despite having about 800 vinyl albums and 100's of CD's covering many genres. I can even remember listening to the UK top 40 one sunday night, sometime around August/ September 1980 and hearing the presenter (Tommy Vance?) announcing the single "Sleepwalk" by Ultravox and also saying "with their new singer Midge Ure!" I subsequently heard them over the next two years until I heard the single "Hymn" on the radio and went about bought it in December 1982. That would be the begining of my love of Ultravox that is still there to this day.

I have a big soft spot for the early to mid 1980's as asides from them being my early teenage years the music around then was fantastic - Human League, AFOS, Gary Numan, Thomas Dolby, OMD, Tears For Fears, Duran Duran etc. were all bands that featured heavily on my stereo though Ultravox was my favourite band of all. Ultravox was also the first big gig I ever went to way back one Sunday night in June 1984, Set Movements tour at London's Hammersmith Odeon (before it became the Apollo). I remember that night like it was yesterday as it completely blew me away, an impressionable 15 year old at the time...