Ultravox.org.uk Extreme Voice Official Ultravox Website

Pre-order Ultravox's 'Extended' remastered remixes album here now, exclusive bundles available!


Topic Options
#67269 - Wed, 14 Apr 2010 17:19:00 RTE 2 software question?
gazzashiatsu Offline
Pass level: Green Room

Registered: Fri, 13 Dec 2002 20:00:00
Posts: 189
Loc: LIVERPOOL 08
hi,
do any of you guys know what software the band are using on laptops? looking at the live video,they are using the same on each mac.
maybe someone recognises the programme.
obviously they use virtual synths,
i'm just curious...
cheers.

Top
#67270 - Wed, 14 Apr 2010 20:32:00 Re: RTE 2 software question?
Sleepwalker Offline
Pass level: Access All Areas

Registered: Tue, 18 Feb 2003 20:00:00
Posts: 4579
Loc: Edinburgh, Scotland
Gaz,

As far as I'm aware the guys use Mainstage Pro for the Mac.

The virtual synths they are using are GForce Media's VSM (Virtual String Machine) Midge, Billy & Chris use this.

Billy uses GForce Imposcar & Oddity, along with (now don't quote me!) Arturia's Yamaha CS80V
A Yamaha CP-300 piano, CME UF7 MIDI controller keyboard & a Novation Remote 49 SL Compact as a controller for the synth leads etc.

Chris also uses GForce's Minimonsta for Moog Bass
A Novation 61 SL MIDI controller is used to trigger the sounds. Midge also uses the above to trigger the sounds from his rig.

Warren did manage to get a hold of some old Star Synare-3 drum synths. He sampled the sounds in various settings & triggers them from his Yamaha kit.

Hope this helps? wink

Top
#67271 - Wed, 14 Apr 2010 23:15:00 Re: RTE 2 software question?
gazzashiatsu Offline
Pass level: Green Room

Registered: Fri, 13 Dec 2002 20:00:00
Posts: 189
Loc: LIVERPOOL 08
arrrr...thought so !!!!!

haha, thanx for the info.

i was gonna ask billy @ meet & greet here in liverpool.but found myself talking rubbish instead!!!
i guess i was a little star struck!
he & numan got me into synths.
i bought my first synth in the early 80's,
Yamaha cs5. added some flanger & reverb.
to get the billy currie sound!!!
.....
cheers;)

Top
#67272 - Wed, 14 Apr 2010 23:21:00 Re: RTE 2 software question?
Flip Martian Offline
Pass level: Access All Areas

Registered: Sat, 29 Jun 2002 19:00:00
Posts: 4749
Loc: Here
Damn, I have all those VSTs! Why don't I sound like Ultravox?!!

Answer...

'cos I'm not ultravox - they are. smile

Top
#67273 - Thu, 15 Apr 2010 00:10:00 Re: RTE 2 software question?
JesperDK Offline
Pass level: Access All Areas

Registered: Mon, 11 Aug 2003 19:00:00
Posts: 703
Loc: Denmark
Cool info - thanks a lot Sleepy! smile
The first time I heard Vienna on the RTE-tour
I wondered how he did the electronic drums
- it sounded SO close....well, now we know:
It IS the Synare! Cool! smile

I know I have been a little harsh on the CS80V
earlier, but I must say after listening to the
beautiful sounds Billy gets out of it and trying
the new V2-version out myself, I really must say
Ive changed my mind completely about it - it
sounds GREAT and I have to buy it when I get some money. It sounds a little bit different than the
ME80...but just as good!

By the way: The "Dulcimer" like sound Midge uses
in Visions In Blue....where does that come from?

Top
#67274 - Thu, 15 Apr 2010 00:31:00 Re: RTE 2 software question?
JesperDK Offline
Pass level: Access All Areas

Registered: Mon, 11 Aug 2003 19:00:00
Posts: 703
Loc: Denmark
Quote:
Originally posted by Flip Martian:
Damn, I have all those VSTs! Why don't I sound like Ultravox?!!

Answer...

'cos I'm not ultravox - they are. smile
Haha...yeah, I know how it feels like Phil! smile
It would be really nice to have that "Ultravoxize" or "Numanize" button in the sequencer when you are sitting there feeling completely useless...who
knows what the future brings....
wink

Top
#67275 - Thu, 15 Apr 2010 18:27:00 Re: RTE 2 software question?
Pete C Offline
Pass level: Press

Registered: Mon, 05 Jan 2009 20:00:00
Posts: 58
Loc: Cambridgeshire
Quote:
Originally posted by Sleepwalker:

As far as I'm aware the guys use livestage Pro for the Mac.
Slight correction Don (as I know how "anorakey" us synth geeks can be), it's MainStage, which comes as part of the Logic Studio suite on the Mac.
wink

Top
#67276 - Thu, 15 Apr 2010 18:54:00 Re: RTE 2 software question?
JesperDK Offline
Pass level: Access All Areas

Registered: Mon, 11 Aug 2003 19:00:00
Posts: 703
Loc: Denmark
How does MainStage work more specific?
Im still on Logic 5.51 on PC nervouslaugh

Top
#67277 - Thu, 15 Apr 2010 19:29:00 Re: RTE 2 software question?
Sleepwalker Offline
Pass level: Access All Areas

Registered: Tue, 18 Feb 2003 20:00:00
Posts: 4579
Loc: Edinburgh, Scotland
Pete, you really are a geek aren't you !!! nutjob

Yes, sorry...I did mean to say Mainstage, my mate uses it with his Mac bundle cool

Seems to be the way to go these days! laugh

Previous post now edited wink

Top
#67278 - Sun, 02 Jan 2011 03:01:00 Re: RTE 2 software question?
Monuman Offline
Pass level: VIP

Registered: Wed, 11 Aug 2010 19:00:00
Posts: 27
Loc: The Heart Of The Country
do any of you have the RTE DVD with building eden???
do any of you know:

how chris does the backwards piano bit on his Novation at 7:32??????


thanks,
Monuman

Top