Ultravox.org.uk Extreme Voice Official Ultravox Website

Click here to order Midge Ure's new album Orchestrated now!

Topic Options
#10625 - Thu, 13 Aug 2009 18:15:00 My Favourite Ever Cymbal Crash*
1.Outside Offline
Pass level: Access All Areas

Loc: Birmingham
Occurs at 3:12 in The Voice.

My second favourite ever cymbal crash occurs at 3:18 in The Voice.

* I have no idea whether 'cymbal crash' is the correct term for this but it sounds right.

#10626 - Fri, 14 Aug 2009 15:51:00 Re: My Favourite Ever Cymbal Crash*
AlexO Offline
Pass level: Promoter

Loc: Hamburg, Germany
interesting topic!
Being a drummer myself I would have perhaps started a topic like "my favourite cymbal sound" or "my favourite cymbal"

why did you chose those 2 cymbal strikes (I think that is a little more "correct" - perhaps Im wrong wink )?

#10627 - Sun, 16 Aug 2009 05:38:00 Re: My Favourite Ever Cymbal Crash*
1.Outside Offline

'Cymbal strike' doesn't quite seem to do justice to one of Warren's signature sounds but I'll defer to experience on that one.

It's hard to explain why I like them so much since I'm not a 'muso' and don't have the vocabulary. However, in layman's terms there's something almost orgasmic about them. IMO, The Voice is a tremendously tense song. It is one of those rare tracks that holds your attention by not always letting you have exactly what you want, if that makes sense. The first cymbal strike I mentioned provides a sense of release at a key moment in the instrumental passage, and the last one seems to wrap it up and finally lets you off the hook.

Maybe this makes no sense but that's kind of how it feels for me.

#10628 - Sun, 16 Aug 2009 07:39:00 Re: My Favourite Ever Cymbal Crash*
Oesterreicher II Offline

Loc: Buxham St. Deirdre
Sounds spot on to me!